Close

The Mystery of the Hidden Fortune by Christine McHaines

The mystery of the hidden fortune by Christine McHaines

A typically useless twenty-something must grow up quickly when a house-sitting job gets him mixed up with serious crime…

Quentin Cadbury is left in charge of his late aunt’s home in Greenwich, London, when his parents up sticks and head to Australia. However, his rather abrupt, and unwelcome, introduction to adult life is upset by a series of break-ins.

Someone is looking for something in the house, and Quentin has no clue what it is. But he knows it’s valuable because whoever’s looking won’t give up.

Feeling abandoned by his parents, with only Magpie the stray cat as company, Quentin appeals to his new neighbour, the alluring but elusive Wanda, for help. But their chaotic amateur sleuthing will draw them into danger.

To get shot of the burglars, Quentin will need to solve a tricky puzzle. And grow a backbone. Is he up to the task?

The Mystery of the Hidden Fortune is a light-hearted, humorous cozy mystery by Christine McHaines. If you like your sleuthing heroes a bit fallible and rather clumsy, you’ll love Quentin and his clever cat.

This book will appeal to fans of Rachel Ward, Anita Waller, T.A. Williams. Look out for the second standalone title in the series, The Mystery of the Lucky Cat, to be published in Summer 2023.

 

Genres: